New Minimum California State Requirements For San Diego Auto Insurance

By Patrick Cooper Posted in Car Insurance News



If you wish to know about auto insurance coverage in California, you should be aware that the State of California has imposed relatively new auto insurance coverage minimums. These minimums do impact any coverage you may have under a San Diego auto insurance policy.

For you to operate and own a vehicle in the State of California, you must readily demonstrate that you are covered for the minimum limits of liability. You may meet these limits with an auto insurance policy offering liability coverage for:

• $5,000 for damage to property.
• $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person.
• $15,000 for injury/death to one person.

Because of the relatively higher costs of living and auto-incident medical care provided in the San Diego area, meet with your agent to discuss auto insurance coverage beyond state minimums.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

While coverage for incidents involving an uninsured or underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) is not required by California law, the State of California encourages you to purchase a UM/UIM policy to supplement your basic auto insurance. Whether or not you have San Diego auto insurance, your agent may recommend purchasing at least $50,000 of UM/UIM, or even more coverage depending on your personal preferences.

To determine whether you should protect yourself and your family under supplemental UM/UIM coverage, consult with your agent. Be sure to discuss the rate of uninsured or underinsured motorist claims in areas where you frequently travel, such as:

• Areas near your home
• Areas near your work
• Roads on which you travel between home and work
• Places you frequently visit for leisure or recreation

By purchasing auto insurance beyond those determined by state minimums, you and your family may drive with a greater sense of confidence your auto insurance agent offers you.

Related posts:

  1. New Minimum California State Requirements For San Jose Car Insurance
  2. New Minimum State Requirements For Houston Auto Insurance Quotes
  3. New Minimum Arkansas State Requirements For Little Rock Car Insurance
  4. What Are The Minimum State California Auto Insurance Laws?
  5. New Minimum State Requirements For Chicago Auto Insurance Quotes






Leave a Reply