New Minimum Florida State Requirements For Jacksonville Auto Insurance

By Patrick Cooper Posted in Car Insurance News



What makes Florida’s car insurance laws unique from most other states is its no fault policy. Florida is only 1 of 12 states to have a no-fault system. What this means for policy holders is that the driver’s insurance should cover any damages, both medical and property damages, regardless of whether or not they are at fault. At first glance no-fault may seem like a sweet deal, but this policy makes it much harder for a motorist to sue the party at fault for damages.

The Bare Minimum

The minimum requirements for Florida do require all drivers to have liability coverage. The coverage must provide at least 10,000 dollars for any medical expenses of the other driver if they were in the vehicle alone. The policy must also provide up to 20,000 for combined medical expenses if the other vehicle has multiple passengers. The liability policy must also cover up to 10,000 dollars of property damage for the other vehicle involved.

All insurance policies must be issued by an agent in the state of Florida, so drivers relocating to the sunshine state will have to find a new insurance policy, regardless of whether their past coverage is in line with Florida state requirements. New-comers to the state should be ready for an increase in premiums. In 2006 the state’s average car insurance premium was $1,069, the 5th most expensive in the nation. That year the national average was around $817.

Florida state laws do not require you to carry uninsured motorist coverage, but it does require all insurance agents to offer it. If a driver decides to decline uninsured motorist coverage, the insurance company is required to have the driver sign a declaration saying they have denied the coverage. Other coverage plans that aren’t required are Personal Injury Protection, Collision or Comprehensive coverage.

Related posts:

  1. New Minimum Louisiana State Requirements For Baton Rouge Car Insurance
  2. New Minimum California State Requirements For San Jose Car Insurance
  3. New Minimum Michigan State Requirements For Ann Arbor Car Insurance
  4. New Minimum Arkansas State Requirements For Little Rock Car Insurance
  5. What Texas Car Insurance Minimums Mean for San Antonio Drivers






Leave a Reply