What Is The Minimum Amount Of Auto Insurance By State?

By Sharon Gibson Posted in Car Insurance News



All states require a minimum amount of liability car insurance on all vehicles. Liability insurance covers the cost of repairing a car or covers the medical bills of the other driver if you are at-fault in an accident. It is broken down like this; the first number represents the amount allotted for personal injury per person, then personal injury per accident, then property damage. So, 20/40/10 would be $20,000 per person for personal injury, $40,000 per accident, and $10,000 for property damage. These dollar amounts are the maximum amount of money the insurance company will pay out in the event of an accident. Any amount incurred above these maximums becomes the responsibility of the insured. The following state breakdown represents the minimum liability requirement only, by state.

State-By-State Requirements

  1. Alaska 50/100/25
  2. Alabama 20/40/10
  3. Arkansas 25/50/15
  4. Arizona 15/30/10
  5. California 15/30/5
  6. Colorado 25/50/15
  7. Connecticut 20/40/10
  8. Delaware 15/30/5
  9. Florida 10/20/10
  10. Georgia 15/30/10
  11. Hawaii 20/40/10
  12. Idaho 20/50/15
  13. Illinois 20/40/15
  14. Indiana 25/50/10
  15. Iowa 20/40/10
  16. Kansas 25/50/10
  17. Kentucky 25/50/10
  18. Louisiana 10/20/10
  19. Maine 50/100/25
  20. Maryland 20/40/10
  21. Massachusetts 20/40/5
  22. Michigan 20/40/10
  23. Minnesota 30/60/10
  24. Mississippi 25/50/25
  25. Missouri 25/50/10
  26. Montana 25/50/10
  27. Nebraska 25/50/25
  28. New Hampshire 25/50/25
  29. New Jersey 15/30/5
  30. New Mexico 25/50/10
  31. Nevada 15/30/10
  32. New York 25/50/10
  33. North Carolina 30/60/25
  34. North Dakota 25/50/25
  35. Ohio 12.5/25/7.5
  36. Oklahoma 10/20/10
  37. Oregon 25/50/10
  38. Pennsylvania 15/30/5
  39. Rhode Island 25/50/25
  40. South Carolina 15/30/10
  41. South Dakota 25/50/25
  42. Tennessee 25/50/25
  43. Texas 20/40/10
  44. Utah 25/65/15
  45. Virginia 25/50/10
  46. Vermont 25/50/10
  47. Washington 25/50/10
  48. Wisconsin 25/50/10
  49. West Virginia 20/40/10
  50. Wyoming 25/50/20

Please keep in mind that these are merely the minimums required in each state. We recommend that you evaluate your own needs to make sure that your insurance covers your personal needs based on your personal circumstances.

Related posts:

  1. New Minimum State Requirements For A New York Auto Insurance Quote
  2. What Are The Minimum State California Auto Insurance Laws?
  3. New Minimum Arkansas State Requirements For Little Rock Car Insurance
  4. What Are The Best Liability Coverage Limits?
  5. New Minimum State Requirements For New York Auto Insurance Quotes






Leave a Reply